#### PERMIAN BASIN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

# MINUTES April 13, 2022 BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

The Board of Directors of the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission held its monthly meeting Wednesday, April 13, 2022, at 1:30 p.m. at the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission at 2910 LaForce Blvd, Midland, TX 79706.

### **MEMBERS PRESENT WERE:**

Steve Eggleston, proxy for Flora Braly, City of Andrews Mayor

Charlie Falcon, Andrews County Judge

Ross Sharp, Borden County Judge (videoconference)

Foy O'Brien, Dawson County Judge

Debi Hayes, Ector County Judge (videoconference)

Denise Swanner, City of Odessa Council

Joe Hurt, Sandhills SWCD

Tom Keyes, Gaines County Judge (videoconference)

Billy Reynolds, Glasscock County Judge

Bryan Cox, Martin County Judge

Terry Johnson, Midland County Judge

Joe Shuster, Pecos County Judge (videoconference)

Chris Alexander, City of Fort Stockton Mayor (videoconference)

Leo M. Hung, Reeves County Judge (videoconference)

Greg Holly, Ward County Judge

Charles Wolf, Winkler County Judge

Juan Delgado proxy for Kel Seliger, District 31, Senator

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT WERE:**

Roy Hodges, Crane County Judge

Rick Dollahan, City of Seagraves Mayor

Kathryn Wiseman, Howard County Judge

Skeet Jones, Loving County Judge

Patrick Payton, Midland Mayor

Dale Carruthers, Terrell County Judge

Dusty Kilgore, Upton County Judge

Tom Craddick, District 82, Texas Representative

Brooks Landgraf, District 81, Texas Representative

Dustin Burrows, District 83, Texas Representative

#### PBRPC STAFF PRESENT:

PBRPC Staff: Virginia Belew – Executive Director, Laura Torres – 911 Director, Alma Montes – Area Agency on Aging Director, Dana Hill – Director Criminal Justice, Bonnie Clark – Director

Homeland Security, Kala Hardy – Chief Financial Officer, Cathe Henderson – Executive Assistant/HR Manager, Miranda Rice Boler – Regional Services Program Specialist, Hridoy Haq – Regional Services Program Manager.

#### **GUESTS PRESENT**

Ketha Molina – Texas 811

## **Meeting Notes:**

Winkler County Judge, Charles Wolf called meeting to order.

Motion was made by Judge Tom Keyes, seconded by Judge Charlie Falcon to approve the minutes of the previous meeting held February 16, 2022. **Motion carried unanimously.** 

Presentation was heard by Annette Gutierrez, Executive Director Rio Grande Council of Governments regarding the Upper Rio Grande, Flood Planning Group – Region 14 – Flood Planning Process, Rio Grande COG Administrative Entity and Public Involvement Coordinating Agency.

Presentation was heard from Ketha Molina of Texas 811 recognizing April as Safe Digging Month. **Resolution 2022-43** 

Presentation was heard from Hridoy Haq with Regional Services regarding Section 8 and recognizing April as Fair Housing Month. **Resolution 2022-44** 

Motion was made by Judge Greg Holly, seconded by Councilmember Denise Swanner to authorize the Executive Director to submit application for the FY23 Statewide Emergency Radio Infrastructure (SERI) Grant. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2022-45** 

Motion was made by Judge Foy O'Brien, seconded by Judge Charlie Falcon to approve the priority listing proposed by the Criminal Justice Advisory Committee for Juvenile Justice, Criminal Justice, Violence Against Women and Victims of Crime Act Funds for FY2023. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2022-46** 

Motion was made by Judge Billy Reynolds, seconded by Joe Hurt to approve Solid Waste Advisory Committee member, Hoby Cupp. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2022-47** 

Motion was made by Councilmember Denise Swanner, seconded by Judge Foy O'Brien to approve the recommendations of the Solid Waste Advisory Committee for two TCEQ Implementation projects (Ector County and City of Monahans). **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2022-48** 

Motion was made by Judge Greg Holly, seconded by Judge Bryan Cox to approve appointment of Judge Tom Keyes as the representative for the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission Board of Directors serving in the Texas Department of Agriculture, CDBG Unified Scoring Committee 2022, proxy to be determined as needed. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2022-49** 

# MINUTES April 13, 2022 PAGE 3

Motion was made by Judge Greg Holly, seconded by Judge Bryan Cox to approve of PBRPC Finance Report for months of February and March 2022 - Check Register and Analysis Reports, Credit Card Expenditures, Payroll Register and Analysis. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2022-50** 

Motion was made by Judge Greg Holly, seconded by Councilmember Denise Swanner to enter closed Executive session to consult with attorney in accordance with Section 551. 071 of the Texas Government Code. **Motion carried unanimously.** 

Motion was made by Councilmember Denise Swanner, seconded by Joe Hurt to exit closed Executive session and reconvene into open meeting. **Motion carried unanimously.** 

Next meeting was set for May 11, 2022, at 1:30 pm.

Motion was made by Judge Byran Cox, seconded by Joe Hurt to adjourn. **Motion carried unanimously.**