PERMIAN BASIN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

MINUTES

June 28, 2023

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

The Board of Directors of the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission held its monthly meeting Wednesday, June 28, 2023, at 1:30 p.m. at the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission at 2910 LaForce Blvd, Midland, TX 79706.

MEMBERS PRESENT WERE:

Steve Eggleston, proxy for Flora Braly, City of Andrews Mayor (videoconference) Charlie Falcon, Andrews County Judge Shane Walker, Borden County Judge Roy Hodges, Crane County Judge Foy O'Brien, Dawson County Judge Dustin Fawcett, Ector County Judge Cindy Therwhanger, Gaines County Judge Billy Reynolds, Glasscock County Judge Randy Johnson, Howard County Judge (videoconference) Skeet Jones, Loving County Judge Sally Poteet, City of Stanton Mayor Terry Johnson, Midland County Judge Joe Shuster, Pecos County Judge Leo M. Hung, Reeves County Judge (videoconference) John Davis, City of Balmorhea Mayor Dusty Kilgore, Upton County Judge Greg Holly, Ward County Judge Charles Wolf, Winkler County Judge Ken Hankins proxy for Senator Kevin Sparks Joel Riedel proxy for Senator John Cornyn (videoconference) Bobbie Henson proxy for Senator Cruz (videoconference)

MEMBERS ABSENT WERE:

Denise Swanner, City of Odessa Council Joe Hurt, Sandhills SWCD Bryan Cox, Martin County Judge Lori Blong, City of Midland Mayor Dale Carruthers, Terrell County Judge

PBRPC STAFF PRESENT:

PBRPC Staff: Virginia Belew – Executive Director, Laura Torres – 9-1-1 Director, Alma Montes – Area Agency on Aging Director (videoconference), Miranda Boler – Regional Services Director, Bonnie Clark – Homeland Security Director, Kala Hardy – Chief Financial Officer, Lesli Flores – Accountant, Cathe Henderson – Executive Assistant/HR Manager.

MINUTES June 28, 2023 PAGE 2

GUESTS PRESENT:

Maranda Moore – Texas Department of Emergency Management, Teresa Burnett - Executive Director at Monahans Chamber of Commerce, Carroll Faulkner – Digital Fields, Jennifer Harris – National Telecommunications and Information Technology (videoconference), Caitlyn (videoconference), George Pinal (videoconference)

Meeting Notes:

Upton County Judge, Dusty Kilgore called meeting to order and established a quorum.

Motion was made by Judge Shane Walker, seconded by Judge Charlie Falcon to approve the minutes of the previous meeting held May 17, 2023. **Motion carried unanimously.**

Recognition of Chris Alexander, Mayor of Fort Stockton was tabled as he was not in attendance.

Presentation heard from by National Telecommunication and Information Administration, Broadband USA program from Jennifer Harris. Presentation heard from Teresa Burnett and Carroll Faulkner for Monahans Broadband Project.

Presentation was given by Alma Montes, Area Agency on Aging Director regarding Area Plan for fiscal years 2024-2026. **Resolution 2023 – 40**

Update was given by Bonnie Clark on Homeland Security Department, FY 24-25 program allocations.

Motion was made by Judge Greg Holly, seconded by Mayor John Davis approving Executive Director to apply for Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Regional Solid Waste Grant Program for FY 24 & FY 25. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2023-41**

Presentation was given by Miranda Boler on Permian Basin, U.S.D.O.T Safe Streets and Roads for All grant, Permian Basin committee.

Motion was made by Judge Joe Shuster, seconded by Judge Billy Reynolds approving the PBRPC finance report for previous month(s), May. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2023-43**

Presentation was given by Roger Toliver, financial auditor with Whitley Penn regarding PBRPC FY 22 Financial Audit. Motion was made by Judge Greg Holly, seconded by John Davis approving the FY 22 Financial Audit. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2023 – 42**

Next Meeting was set for August 9, 2023.

Motion was made by Judge Greg Holly, seconded by Judge Charlie Falcon to adjourn. **Motion** carried unanimously.