#### PERMIAN BASIN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

#### **MINUTES**

January 10, 2024

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING**

The Board of Directors of the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission held its monthly meeting Wednesday, January 10, 2024, at 1:30 p.m. at the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission at 2910 LaForce Blvd, Midland, TX 79706.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT WERE:**

Steve Eggleston, proxy for Flora Braly, City of Andrews Mayor

Mark Savell, proxy for Charlie Falcon, Andrews County Judge

Shane Walker, Borden County Judge

Domingo Escobedo, proxy for Roy Hodges, Crane County Judge

Foy O'Brien, Dawson County Judge

Dustin Fawcett, Ector County Judge

Denise Swanner, City of Odessa Council (videoconference)

Joe Hurt, Sandhills SWCD

Cindy Therwhanger, Gaines County Judge

Bryan Cox, Martin County Judge

Sally Poteet, City of Stanton Mayor

Terry Johnson, Midland County Judge

Lindsey Adams, proxy for Lori Blong, City of Midland Mayor

Leo M. Hung, Reeves County Judge

John Davis, City of Balmorhea Mayor

Dale Carruthers, Terrell County Judge (videoconference)

Greg Holly, Ward County Judge (videoconference)

Charles Wolf, Winkler County Judge

Ken Hankins proxy for Senator Kevin Sparks

Bobbi Hanson proxy for Senator Ted Cruz (videoconference)

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT WERE:**

Billy Reynolds, Glasscock County Judge Randy Johnson, Howard County Judge Skeet Jones, Loving County Judge Joe Shuster, Pecos County Judge Dusty Kilgore, Upton County Judge

### **PBRPC STAFF PRESENT:**

PBRPC Staff: Virginia Belew – Executive Director, Dana Hill – Criminal Justice/Homeland Security Director, Miranda Boler – Regional Services Director, Abel Gamez – GIS Manager, Lesli Flores – Accountant, Porfirio Herrera – Accounting Technician, Cathe Henderson – Executive Assistant/HR Manager, Patricia Rosales, Homeland Security Planner.

# MINUTES January 10, 2024 PAGE 2

#### **GUESTS PRESENT:**

Michele Hagemann – City of Midland, Charles Lind – Town of Pecos City, Richard Dolgener – Public.

## **Meeting Notes:**

Reeves County Judge, Leo Hung called meeting to order at 1:30 pm and established a quorum.

Motion was made by Judge Charles Wolf, seconded by Judge Bryan Cox approving minutes of the previous meeting held December 13, 2023.

Recognition of 2023 PBRPC Board of Directors Chairman, the Honorable Dusty Kilgore was tabled until the next meeting due to Judge Kilgore not being in attendance.

Motion was made by Judge Foy O'Brien, seconded by Judge Charles Wolf to approve the Permian Basin 2023 Threat Hazard Identification Risk Assessment (THIRA) & Stakeholder Preparedness Report (SPR), the 2024 Implementation Plan and Risk Informed Methodology. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-11** 

Motion was made by Judge Bryan Cox, seconded by Mayor John Davis approving Shane Bowles, City of Big Spring, Public Works Director to serve as a Solid Waste Advisory Committee Member. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-12** 

Motion was made by Mayor John Davis, seconded by Judge Charles Wolf to approve the Executive Director to apply for the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality funding with proposed budget for FY 2024/25. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-13** 

Motion was made by Mayor John Davis, seconded by Judge Dustin Fawcett to approve the Executive Director to apply for the Texas Department of Transportation Coordinated Call for Projects – Planning Assistance (PLN) grant. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-14** 

Motion made by Judge Terry Johnson, seconded by Mayor John Davis for approval of PBRPC 2024 Board Committees and Appointments. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-15** 

Motion made by Judge Dustin Fawcett, seconded by Judge Cindy Therwhanger for approval of the Finance Report for previous month(s). **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-16** 

Motion made by Judge Terry Johnson, seconded by Joe Hurt for the next meeting to be set for February 14, 2024. **Motion carried unanimously.** 

Motion was made by Judge Dustin Fawcett, seconded by Judge Terry Johnson to adjourn at 2:18 pm. **Motion carried unanimously.**