### PERMIAN BASIN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

#### MINUTES

September 11, 2024

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING**

The Board of Directors of the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission held its monthly meeting Wednesday, September 11, at 1:30 p.m. at the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission at 2910 LaForce Blvd, Midland, TX 79706.

### **MEMBERS PRESENT WERE:**

Jason Harper, City of Andrews Mayor Shane Walker, Borden County Judge Foy O'Brien, Dawson County Judge Dustin Fawcett, Ector County Judge Denise Swanner, City of Odessa Council (videoconference) Joe Hurt, Sandhills SWCD Cindy Therwhanger, Gaines County Judge Skeet Jones, Loving County Judge (videoconference) Sally Poteet, City of Stanton Mayor (videoconference) Terry Johnson, Midland County Judge (videoconference) Lindsey Adams, proxy for Lori Blong, City of Midland Mayor (videoconference) Joe Shuster, Pecos County Judge (videoconference) Leo M. Hung, Reeves County Judge Joel Riedel proxy for John Cornyn, Senator (videoconference) Bobbi Hanson proxy for Ted Cruz, Senator (videoconference)

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT WERE:**

Sam Jones, Andrews County Judge Roy Hodges, Crane County Judge Billy Reynolds, Glasscock County Judge Randy Johnson, Howard County Judge Bryan Cox, Martin County Judge John Davis, City of Balmorhea Mayor Dale Carruthers, Terrell County Judge Dusty Kilgore, Upton County Judge Greg Holly, Ward County Judge Charles Wolf, Winkler County Judge

#### **PBRPC STAFF PRESENT:**

PBRPC Staff: Virginia Belew – Executive Director, Timothy Fuentes – Chief Finance Officer, Dana Hill – Criminal Justice Homeland Security Director, Miranda Boler – Regional Services Director, Laura Torres – 9-1-1 Emergency Communications Director, Patricia Rosales – Homeland Security Planner, Lesli Flores - Accountant, Cathe Henderson – Executive Assistant/HR Manager

**GUESTS PRESENT:** (none)

## **Meeting Notes:**

Reeves County Judge, Leo Hung called meeting to order at 1:33 pm and established a quorum.

Judge Leo Hung reflected on the 9/11 as a remembrance of the anniversary.

Motion was made by Judge Foy O'Brien, seconded by Judge Dustin Fawcett approving minutes of the previous meeting held August 15, 2024. **Motion carried unanimously.** 

Motion was made by Judge Dustin Fawcett, seconded by Judge Cindy Therwhanger approving the nominating committee's recommendation for the City of Andrews Mayor Jason Harper to fill the PBRPC Board of Directors position representing the interest of small cities. **Motion** carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-47

Update was given by Laura Torres, 9-1-1 Emergency Communications Director regarding the Texas Commission on State Emergency Communication Annual Compliance review for the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission 9-1-1 Emergency Communications Program for Fiscal Year 2023.

Update was given by Laura Torres, 9-1-1 Emergency Communications Director regarding Howard County 9-1-1 Communications Project.

Motion was made by Judge Foy O'Brien, seconded by Judge Cindy Therwhanger approving the Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission 2024 Title VI Plan associated with Texas Department of Transportation planning program. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-48** 

Motion was made by Joe Hurt, seconded by Judge Foy O'Brien approving the proposed Solid Waste Advisory Committee members; James (Wes) Carta – Environmental Enforcement/Emergency Management Director for Ector County and Joseph Spano – Municipal Manager for Republic Services. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-49** 

Motion was made Judge Dustin Fawcett, seconded by Judge Cindy Therwhanger approving the Solid Waste Advisory Committee Implementation Project recommendations for City of McCamey and City of Big Spring. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-50** 

Motion was made by Judge Dustin Fawcett, seconded by Joe Hurt approving the PBRPC Fiscal Year 2024-2025 Strategic Work Program and Operating Budget. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-51** 

Motion made by Judge Dustin Fawcett, seconded by Judge Foy O'Brien for approval of the Finance Report for previous month(s). **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-52** 

Motion was made by Judge Cindy Therwhanger, seconded by Joe Hurt authorizing the nominating committee to recommend 2025 PBRPC Board of Directors Officers at General Membership Annual Meeting, October 16, 2024. **Motion carried unanimously. Resolution 2024-53** 

# MINUTES September 11, 2024 PAGE 3

Next meeting to be set for Wednesday, October 16, 2024.

Motion was made by Judge Dustin Fawcett, seconded by Judge Foy O'Brien to adjourn at 2:22pm. **Motion carried unanimously.**